Given our habit to beeline for the newest sushi restaurant and wax poetic about the ‘uni trio,’ there still remains a large disconnect between our understanding of sushi’s rituals and the reality at hand. Whether that involves issues of etiquette (is it rude to rub your chopsticks?) or taste (is toro really the connoisseur’s choice?), we often find ourselves stumped, embarrassed, or without direction at the sushi counter.

To clear the air, the folks over at Swissotel Nanaki in Osaka have created a user-friendly infographic that illuminates the rich history and traditions of the sushi, including the do’s and don’ts of eating customs, the path towards becoming a certified itamae, and the different types of sushi consumed in Japan. If you want to avoid looking like a noob, be sure to bookmark this before your next trip Tokyo.

Here are a few highlights:

There are four steps to becoming a professional itamae (which translates to ‘he who stands in front of the board’).


There are eight common types of sushi consumed in Japan.



The do’s and don’ts of eating sushi.


Rules of ordering.


To view the full infographic, click here.